FAVOURITE ALBUMS OF 2012.

top albums 2012

ok. So, here it is. My top albums of 2012. It’s been a nutty year, full of some really incredible albums. As I mentioned in my earlier post, it was impossible to listen to everything, but, I did try. Continuing on with the whole Australian music blog theme this blog has taken on over the past 8 or 9 months, everything here is Australian. Check out my 11-20 list for the os albums that made my faves.

I’ve made a bit of a mix with a track or two from each album which you can stream/download below. Also, if you click on the album titles, you can stream the album on spotify. Coz I is good like that.

So, without further ado, 10 – 1.

DOWNLOAD (Right Click/Save As)

10. Bored Nothing – Bored Nothing
Bored-Nothing_
Such a chilled release. A culmination of tracks from EPs leading up to his singing to SPUNK, not only is it a rad collection of tracks, but they all sit so tightly together. Great prolific song writing on show with this one.

Bored Nothing – Get Out Of Here

9. Jonathan Boulet – We Keep The Beat, Found The Sound, See The Need, Start The Heart
Jonathan-Boulet
I called this fella a genius when his debut album came in my fave albums of 2009. His second album, whilst perhaps not living up to the rather lofty heights he set himself a few years ago, still nails it. A lot more percussive this time round, I think the beauty in it is just how ferocious some of this disc is.

Jonathan Boulet – Trounce

8. Catcall – The Warmest Place
catcall
This took me a little by surprise. From the opening 46 second intro, The Warmest Place shows that Catcall is, simply put, a killer pop song writer. But moreso, not only is she an individual pop song master, she also pretty much kills a pop album.

Catcall – The World is Ours

7. Pop Singles – All Gone
pop singles
Like the Twerps debut album of last year (my fave of the year too!) Pop Singles have the whole Flying Nun era jangly pop, but still manage to sound broad, encompassing, and dare I say, Australian. Not only are there some incredibly excellent individual songs on this release (in fact, each track is excellent), the songs sit really well alongside each other. It freakin works as an album.

Pop SIngles – All Gone

6. King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – 12 Bar Bruise
kglw
Throw shit at the wall and see what sticks? King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard nail that noisy bluesy punk vibe with their debut release, 12 Bar Bruise. There’s a bit of variety on this disc which I love.

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Muckraker

5. Presets – Pacifica
Presets-Pacifica
There are so many great pop moments on this album. Whilst I had heard that this disc was going to be a bit more straight techno than Apocolypso, I would perhaps suggest that there are a heap more feel good moments on here. Both Kim and Julian nail it though.

The Presets – Ghosts

4. Tame Impala – Lonerism
tame impala lonerism
For all of the hype this album has received, for me, it still manages to fit in the top 10. The album has some seriously great tracks – some perhaps even contenders for year best! But, as with all the albums on this list, it’s not just a collection of songs. They all sit well together, and there’s an overarching story if you like, in the sequencing of the tracks.

Tame Impala – Elephant

3. Collarbones – Die Young
collarbones
A massively hyped album, for sure, but I think still deserving of every little bit of love it gets. If beat driven glitchy rave style r’n’b is the new thing, then these two are at the forefront.

Collarbones – Die Young feat. HTML Flowers

2. Love Migrate – Plagued Are All My Thoughts, Like White Ants In The Fence
love migrate

Easily one of my favourite Melbourne bands, this was definitely an album I was eagerly anticipating. Showcasing some incredibly strong songwriting, it’s full of really broad encompassing instrumentation. Eddie’s wonderfully crafted vocals really complement what this band do.

Love Migrate – What Kind Of Man Have I Become

1. Boomgates – Double Natural
GGR SINGLE POCKET JACKET_3
As is the sound of bands like Dick Diver, Twerps, and Eddy Current, there’s this thrown together sound that these guys really nail. It really does sound like a couple of mates having a play. As a result, there’s this nice snug feeling that you get from listening to this disc. And yeah, sure, you may classify it as indie pop. But more me, it’s indie pop perhaps at it’s finest, and it genuinely leaves you feeling satisfied.

Boomgates – Flood Plains

Miks

One response

  1. Pingback: LOVE MIGRATE. | MAAMF: an australian music blog

Leave a comment