ROUGH RIVER.

10168050_505081009596463_3500307029816581657_n

A couple of weeks ago I crapped on about how I’m getting old. Sure, I attempted to mask it in some academicised language about age and taste, but nah, really, it was just me getting away with having a bit of a whinge.

I do find my tastes changing though, and although it seems to correspond with me getting a bit old, the more country-tinged stuff I’m tending to favour is working rather nicely.

Rough River is the project of Kate Skinner, a Melbourne based singer-songwriter. ‘Sometimes’ is the lead single from her debut self-titled full length that covers that whole folk-tinged feelgoodness that still manages to feel quite sparse and carefully crafted despite all it’s alt-country style guitar picking, snare work, violin and overall busyness.

You can grab the album here. King Gizzard‘s Lucas Skinner (and presumably Kate’s brother/cousin) produced the album in his Brunswick home.

Miks

One response

  1. rob

    hi. i hope you might he able to help me. I bought/downloaded an album a couple months ago by an Australian band but my phone crapped out and I have now lost it. I buy a lot of music and can’t even remember the name of the band. The song I bought it for repeats the line “you say that you’re fine, I know that you’re not”. the cover pic is a group of people sitting on a couch in a dim room but the band members’ faces are scratched out. really hope this rings a bell!!

    June 3, 2014 at 1:29 PM

Leave a Reply

