Yves Klein Blue – Ragged & Ecstatic

Yves Klein Blue - Ragged & Ecstatic

When this album finished playing on my ipod, I wanted it to keep on going. Maybe it was just the moment (train travel can be pretty boring sometimes), or maybe it’s the fact that Yves Klein Blue are an extremely underrated band, deserving of much more than a little bit of triple j radio play and a lot of word of mouth exposure.

Musically, these guys are really interesting. You can tell there’s a whole heap of influences in their music and their sound isn’t strictly dictated by current radio, or even current western music. The track Polka is an obvious example of this for sure. Their use of instruments is great too. They don’t go all out and use a whole heap of instruments that you wouldn’t expect to hear (there’s no sitar or djembe here), but they do use things like harmonica (Soldier), some slide guitar (Gin Sling) and the use of straight piano on a few of the tracks which sounds pretty refreshing (kind of reminds me of Hot Hot Heat a little bit actually).

So yeah, I think it might be love. I’d always heard of these guys and I’m freaking loving the fact I’ve gotten this album. Is killer. I’m just waiting for an album that I hate. I’m yet to review one of those…haha give me time.

In terms of favourite tracks, it’s hard to pinpoint (maybe I’m becoming too blasé about reviewing albums!). But dammit, I will. I think the piano led Getting Wise would have to be a firm face…or fave. (C’s next to the V. I could have just gone back and fixed it up but you know, this thing needs to be a bit funny.) Other faVes would be the rather rock Digital Love, the acoustic About The Future, the ska infused Summer Sheets, the rock-polka joint Polka, and the country driven final track Gin Sling. Quite a few there I know. I just like this album quite quite a bit.

To leave you with, a track. If you haven’t heard any of Yves Klein Blue before then I think Dinosaur is definitely a good introduction. Swinging rock and roll with a real focus on accents (muso talk I know. Feel free to wtf are you on about for that bit).

Yves Klein Blue – Dinosaur

Check the album out on iTunes here.

K. That’ll do the ramble for now.

3 responses

  1. I had trouble picking favourite tracks as well. There are so many good ones.
    I just hope they are as good live as they are on record.

    July 25, 2009 at 7:22 AM

  2. meandallmyfriends

    Triple J played a bit of their set from Splendor just a few hours ago. Sounded pretty freakin awesome.

    July 25, 2009 at 7:30 AM

  3. Awesome.
    I’m seeing them support the White Lies on Thursday and am more excited about seeing them than seeing the White Lies.

    July 25, 2009 at 8:06 AM

Leave a Reply

